Exhibition Catalogue Award

The Dedalus Foundation Exhibition Catalogue Award is awarded annually to an outstanding exhibition catalogue published in a given calendar year that makes a significant contribution to the scholarship of modern art or modernism. This award is given in addition to, and as the complement of, the Robert Motherwell Book Award.

Nomination Criteria

Eligibility for the 2023 award is limited to catalogues published in 2022, in English, that make a significant contribution to the understanding of modern art or modernism. (Our definition of modernism is broad and we will consider catalogues that deal with art created between the early twentieth century and the present.) Along with documenting an exhibition, eligible catalogues should feature essays that expand and illuminate in innovative ways knowledge about the subject of the exhibition. Eligible catalogues should consist primarily of new, unpublished material.

Nomination Timeline & Procedure

Museums, galleries, and publishers may nominate any exhibition catalogues published in 2022 that they believe merit the jury’s consideration. Nominations may be sent to cataward@dedalusfoundation.org beginning November 2, 2022 and will be accepted until December 16, 2022. Nominations should include the catalogue's title, editors, authors and a 75 word précis.

Publishers of catalogues that the jury wishes to further consider will be contacted in February 2023, and asked to ship review copies directly to each of the three members of the jury.



Sophie Taeuber-Arp: Living Abstraction
The Museum of Modern Art/Kunstmuseum Basel